TPLink TL-WA830RE – WiFi Range Extender Battery


Just purchased and setup a 12v battery for my TPLink TL-WAS830RE range extender.

This will allow me to take it out with my drone into the field and extend the wifi range of my drone. Hopefully this should prove to help with range and cover the entire oval where I fly my drone.

It’s a 12v sealed lead acid battery with 2A capacity which should in theory give me at least 1.5 hours flight time per battery charge. The extender runs about 1A and I have a 2A fuse in place.

A quick test at a local park proved the extender to work pretty good. I’ve also test flown it at the oval and got really good range. Probably too good as the drone got caught by the wind and clipped a tree at the far end of the oval and fell from a pretty good height. No damage though thank god! But I didn’t get the video as the app crashed on me before it saved the video to file. Think I need to turn on USB recording.

I’ll post another video of the oval test once it’s completed.

 

About Darren
Support technician, currently working for a tier-1 internet provider in Australia providing video conferencing support to the education sector.

Comments are closed.